PREMIERE’S 100 SEXIEST

rita-2.jpg

PREMIERE MAGAZINE has just published a list of the 100 sexiest movie stars of all time. For the list in its entirety, please go here

Sexiness or sensuality is wildly subjective. Everyone has their own individual opinions. There are some strikingly gorgeous people included in their compilation. But possessing that kind of transcendent loveliness – or being a classic head turner – does not a raging sexpot make. Some drop dead beautiful people are very cool customers.

Being a red blooded heterosexual woman, I only fancy men. But I can definitely understand why certain females have incredible appeal to the male of the species.

I’m going to list the actors that I concur with and I’ll put the ones that are too hot to live in bold.

I’m fully aware that this is a brand new blog. But anyone that is reading can feel free to comment on any aspect of this post that they choose.

The options are endless.

WOMEN

98. SUSAN SARANDON
93. HEDY LAMARR
88. PAM GRIER
81. MAE WEST
80. DEMI MOORE
79. LAUREN BACALL
77. CLAUDIA CARDINALE
71. GENE TIERNEY
67. SCARLETT JOHANSSON
66. DIANE LANE
62. KIM NOVAK
57. BRITT EKLAND
55. UMA THURMAN
54. GINA LOLLOBRIGIDA
53. ANITA EKBERG
51. JENNIFER CONNELLY
48. MONICA BELLUCCI
45. LANA TURNER
44. JAYNE MANSFIELD
43. LENA OLIN
39. JANE FONDA
38. VERONICA LAKE
37. SHARON STONE
36. CATHERINE ZETA JONES
35. ANN MARGRET
34. JANE RUSSELL
28. SALMA HAYEK
27. ELIZABETH TAYLOR
26. KIM BASINGER
22. URSULA ANDRESS
19. SOPHIA LOREN
15. AVA GARDNER
14. RITA HAYWORTH
10. HALLE BERRY
8. RAQUEL WELCH
5. ANGELINA JOLIE
3. BRIGITTE BARDOT
1. MARILYN MONROE

MEN

91. JEFF BRIDGES
69. JOHNNY DEPP
68. ROBERT MITCHUM
64. DANIEL DAY LEWIS
59. DENNIS QUAID
49. ANTONIO BANDERAS
33. RUSSELL CROWE
30. WARREN BEATTY
25. ROBERT REDFORD
17. ROCK HUDSON
9. BRAD PITT
6. JAMES DEAN

6 Responses to “PREMIERE’S 100 SEXIEST”

  1. Welcome to the blog world! Things are looking great around here. The list of 100 sexiest certainly doesn’t hurt…

    This is a worthy list, but it’s all out of order. Jolie and Berry are both beautiful, but WAY too high on the list. Bardot is also way too high. Not quite my type.

    As for women who are on your list but wouldn’t make mine: KIM BASINGER, JANE RUSSELL, SHARON STONE, LENA OLIN, JAYNE MANSFIELD and BRITT EKLAND.

    And women who aren’t on your list but are on Premiere’s list and mine: CATHERINE DENEUVE, CHARLIZE THERON, JENNIFER LOPEZ, PENELOPE CRUZ, GONG LI, AISHWARYA RAI, LOUISE BROOKS and MARLENE DIETRICH.

    Women who aren’t even on Premiere’s list (very partial list): GRACE KELLY, AUDREY HEPBURN, MICHELLE MORGAN, JULIE DELPY, SOPHIE MARCEAU, EVA GREEN, LUDIVINE SAGNIER. I’m sure there are many others, but those are just off the top of my head.

    Who are my favorite women of all? That depends on my mood and it’s a little like picking my favorite ice cream. I’d rather not have to pick just one.

    And finally, here are the men from Premiere’s list that I would’ve included: MARLON BRANDO, GEORGE CLOONEY, STEVE McQUEEN, PAUL NEWMAN, ELVIS, COLIN FARRELL, PIERCE BROSNAN, ALAIN DELON, RICHARD BURTON, HUGH JACKMAN, GAEL GARCIA BERNAL.

    Can’t wait to see more bloggage…

  2. Miranda Wilding Says:

    Welcome, Mr. Kennedy. Thank you for your kindness and the compliments. May I call you Craig?

    All of this is, of course, entirely up to the individual. Everyone has a different opinion about who or what is sexy – and I do mean EVERYONE.

    This is my own personal definition. The absolute bottom line is, of course, that you want to sleep with that particular person. Whether they’re movie stars or people you actually know, they give off a mysterious aura that makes you want to get closer.

    But, for me, they certainly have to be more than beautiful. Actually, sexy and beautiful are two very different things. People don’t even have to be conventionally attractive to be sexy, though it certainly does help. Some gorgeous people seem very, very cold or detached. Either they’re not emotional types or they run purely on intellect.

    MERYL STREEP is an example of a drop dead gorgeous woman that is not particularly sexy. As one of the most brilliant actors of our time, she can certainly PLAY sexy. But, despite her marvelous sense of humour, I think her brain is more of a driving force for her than her sensuality.

    I think it’s fair to say that you’re rather iconoclastic, Craig. This is a very different response than I’d get from most men, I’m sure. Really refreshing. I am always fascinated by people’s views on this. Their preferences in this area say a great deal about them as individuals, as far as I’m concerned.

    I am AMAZED that you don’t find KIM BASINGER and LENA OLIN sexy. The two of them (to me) define it ultimately in so many ways that it would take me hours to explain.

    Opinions of all kinds are always welcome here. So I do hope that you don’t take offense if I offer mine as a contrast.

    I do agree wholeheartedly about JULIE DELPY, SOPHIE MARCEAU and LOUISE BROOKS. They’re DEFINITELY sexy.

    As for the rest…

    CATHERINE DENEUVE is beautiful but she has a glittering coldness to her. Just like an exquisite painting in a museum that you’re forbidden to touch. She’s got that whole Ice Queen thing going on. Gong Li is nice looking but that’s all as far as I’m concerned.

    PENELOPE CRUZ has a great physique and the characters that she plays often have a very warm accessible sensuality to them. Off screen I don’t see as much of that.

    Aishwarya Rai is very good looking. Her eyes are sensational. But there’s no warmth there. I fail to see the appeal of Marlene Dietrich at all.

    GRACE KELLY is like an American CATHERINE DENEUVE. She was attractive in that same frosty way. AUDREY HEPBURN is one of the great beauties of the silver screen. But I wouldn’t call her sexy in a million years. She’s far too refined. EVA GREEN is good looking and seems likable. That’s all for me.

    Now to the men…

    I always thought of Marlon Brando as a great actor, but nothing more. He never appealed to me physically. GEORGE CLOONEY is our modern day CARY GRANT and his characteristics in this particular category are identical.

    I love CARY GRANT. He was incredibly beautiful but very elegant and understated. Much too formal and buttoned down to be sexy. Though Mr. Clooney is decidedly more down to earth and accessible (likely because Mr. Grant was British) his gorgeousness is also too tasteful to set off any sparks. Steve McQueen never impressed me at all in any way.

    PAUL NEWMAN (with his legendary azure eyes) is iconic in terms of his beauty. There is no question in my mind. He has portrayed sexy characters on screen. But away from the camera he strikes me as a detached intellectual. Aside from a few movie roles, I don’t feel any heat emanating from him. Elvis was not unattractive but his appeal goes right over my head.

    COLIN FARRELL is amusing and puppy dog cute. Not at all sexy to my mind. PIERCE BROSNAN is good looking but I wouldn’t define him as sexy. ALAIN DELON is an incredible looking man. But that’s all. Richard Burton had a lovely rich speaking voice. I never found him sexy. HUGH JACKMAN and GAEL GARCIA BERNAL are nice looking but that’s all for me.

    Thank you so much for commenting, Craig. I do appreciate your input a great deal and I’m very happy you arrived here. Interesting, creative discussions and diverse opinions are what CP is all about.

    Hopefully I’ll see you here again in the near future.

  3. I suppose you’re right that beauty is not the same as sex appeal. They often go hand in hand, but the former doesn’t necessarily guarantee the latter. By that stricter definition, I’d probably have to take many of the men off my list and some of the women as well.

    With GRACE KELLY and AUDREY HEPBURN, I have a difficult time separating my boyhood crush from real adult lust. Were I introduced to them today, I can’t say I’d have the same response.

    Most of the French girls on that list got bonus points simply for being French. I could probably go country by country and make whole lists for each one.

    KIM BASINGER…

    I don’t know, she’s just not my type. Pretty, yes to a point. But she seems wounded in some way…I don’t know, hard to explain.

    I never used to be a huge fan of MARILYN MONROE. I always thought she was pretty, but had never really warmed up to her movies and didn’t get her sex appeal. Then I saw her in THE MISFITS and fell in love. She was a different kind of wounded beauty than Basinger portrays. Then I watched everything she was in and saw how underratedly talented she was.

    She had a real gift for comedy and pulled off drama very well in the rare times she was given a chance. She was better than a lot of the films she was in and she had a magnetic, galvanizing effect even in her smallest roles.

    There has never been anyone like her.

  4. Miranda Wilding Says:

    Hello, Craig. How very lovely to see you again.

    Yes, I’d have to say, to my mind at least, that sexiness and sensuality have little or nothing to do with beauty. People (even real people of the nonfamous variety) can look like magazine covers. Chiseled in their perfection. But there has to be some kind of a spark.

    Here’s an example. People can be sensational looking but if they’re terrible in any way or extremely difficult, no one is going to want to spend two seconds in their company. Beauty per se is beauty. Nothing more and nothing less. But true sexiness comes from within. Meaning that there are some people that would fit the classic definition of beauty but that sex appeal has as much to do with wit, intelligence or the way you express your personality as anything else.

    So, in other words, having a great body will certainly get you noticed. But that will only take you so far…

    Here’s an example. I think we’ve all had this experience. Have you ever been to some kind of a social gathering and saw someone from a distance that was just breathtaking? Then you talked to them later on in the evening and found them utterly boring, silly, not terribly bright etc. After that exchange, they don’t seem nearly as attractive, do they?

    On the other hand, you could go somewhere else another evening and have a savage spark with someone who is merely cute or decidedly average (by most people’s standards) and, every time you see them, they become more alluring to you.

    It’s classic: “I thought he was hot until he opened his mouth. Then I never wanted to see him again.”

    In the case of movie stars (since we don’t know them and unless we travel in those particular circles we never will) we’re responding mainly to the physical. Part of it is the characters they play. You can also get some sense of them through interviews but that’s mainly PR. If we were able to connect with them in reality, our impressions would stand or fall on that basis. I’m sure some of our intense infatuations would not remain stable under that kind of scrutiny.

    Much of it is created image. I liked GRACE a lot. But she’s a prime example. In some of her films she gave the appearance of being distant and aloof. Some of the men that knew her well (before the prince, of course) stated publicly after the fact that she was anything but.

    I remember hearing about an interview that her daughter CAROLINE had where she discussed her mother in some detail. The woman said that she always envisioned GRACE as “cool and serene,” living in her sumptuous Monaco palace.

    CAROLINE smiled and replied, “Oh, no. My mother had a temper.”

    AUDREY (who I always worshipped) was apparently quite the opposite. People said she was consistently quiet and gracious. Never raised her voice or got upset about anything. Someone in the know stated that the only time she ever went on a tirade when was some man (I think a studio exec) said that he thought that the scene where she sang MOON RIVER on the fire escape – in BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S – should be removed because it slowed the picture’s momentum.

    She was reported to have said, “Tell him it will be over my dead body.”

    I don’t know if it really happened that way. But that scene is still in the movie and it’s a moment that always makes me grateful that AUDREY became a star.

    It sounds as if GRACE’S sensuality may have been a priority in terms of her private life. But that was certainly not how she was perceived by the general public. She was no sex symbol. She was cool, aristocratic, classy. Both she and AUDREY were supreme style icons of that particular generation. I imagine that’s why I never perceived either of them as sexy. They were both very elegant.

    I understand the French thing totally. I know I said that CATHERINE DENEUVE was not sexy to me. But she’s hugely iconic (especially in terms of her sophisticated beauty – she’s also very elegant and fashionable) and I do have great admiration for her for precisely that reason.

    (I also have a soft spot for CATHERINE because we look alike. But I have SCARLETT JOHANSSON’S body type and a similar smoky voice. So I’m a rather different type despite the obvious similarities.)

    NICOLE KIDMAN is currently the face of CHANEL. Back in the 70s it was CATHERINE. It makes sense. They’re complementary types. I also grew up loving BRIGITTE BARDOT and ISABELLE ADJANI – and of course MARION COTILLARD has now emerged as the biggest potential star from that country in many years. Ms. Bardot, Ms. Adjani and Ms. Cotillard are all very vibrant and sexy to me.

    I don’t know exactly how 99% of French women manage to look effortlessly chic 24/7, but they do. It’s amazing.

    KIM BASINGER is another story completely. She’s one of the most beautiful women I’ve ever seen. I grew up adoring her and feeling that she was ridiculously underrated. I’m ecstatic to see, with her work in LA CONFIDENTIAL and THE DOOR IN THE FLOOR in particular, that she finally got the accolades she so richly deserved.

    But, for all her extravagant golden gorgeousness, she’s not conventional or run of the mill. For a blonde, she’s exotic – and that’s a tremendous rarity. She has very high cheekbones and full lips. There has been a steady stream of women of the burnished leonine variety trying to make their respective marks in Hollywood since it opened for business.

    Ms. Basinger isn’t like any of them.

    She wears clothes well (she was a model, after all) but she only did that to raise her profile so she could get acting work. Fashion per se is not a real priority to her. She’s painfully shy and she’s gone public about her struggles with agoraphobia. She’s obviously a sensitive soul and emotionally complicated which is extremely appealing to me. This woman is deep. There’s a lot going on beneath the surface.

    Sexy to me is never buttoned down, conservative or withdrawn. It’s freewheeling, spirited, uncontainable, even messy. I do recall an interview with her where the woman said that, during the course of the day, she never saw Ms. Basinger with a neat ponytail. The few times that she attempted to make her hair smoth and sleek, her gorgeous waves would always escape and fall across her face.

    All of that is precisely why, to me at least, she’s one of the sexiest women on the planet.

    Don’t even get me started on the MARILYN thing. She is someone that I loved and related to since I was a little girl. She was so open and vulnerable that you got the sense that she would bruise from very little effort.

    You’re absolutely correct, Craig. There has never been anyone like her. There never will be again. She was one of a kind and that line ended with her.

    MARILYN had a rootless near tragic childhood growing up in Los Angeles in the 1930s and 40s. She had no father and her mother had severe emotional problems and couldn’t care for her properly. She lived in a series of foster homes until she married a family friend at the age of sixteen. I think all of that accounts for the wounded quality that you describe. You can see a certain kind of sadness or melancholy reflected in some interviews with her and now and then in the characters that she portrayed. I think all of that must have had a significant effect on her.

    She never gave up on her ambitions though. She divorced her first husband and avidly pursued her goals. I don’t think in her wildest dreams that she ever imagined that she would be such a huge star. The main problem was that she was perceived by some as this talentless blonde bombshell when she was in fact thoughtful, sensitive, intelligent and wanted to be respected and valued for her talent.

    If she had come along much later in the game and avoided the molding of the studio system, would we have had the same MARILYN MONROE? Doubtful. She apparently told friends that that was never a name that she would’ve chosen for herself (having been christened Norma Jean) and she didn’t even want to be blonde initially. It’s highly intriguing to imagine what she would’ve been like if she had come along a little later. It’s sad that we’ll never know.

    In truth, though she was genuinely lovely, I think that there are many that were even more beautiful. As an adult, I even find a lot of her sexiness (the excessively tight, low cut wardrobe on and off the set, the whispery little voice etc.) a tad forced. It’s almost like she’s trying too hard at times. If you are genuinely sexy, you don’t have to strain that hard for it. People will be aware of it no matter what.

    You’re right. She went out on a limb with THE MISFITS. It’s a movie that I watched over and over when I was a girl and on into adolescence. It’s exceptionally good. The interplay and the chemistry between her and CLARK GABLE is stunning.

    Not to mention that he was incredibly sexy…

    So tragic that that was the last film that they ever completed. They both went much too young…

    I can’t even look at it today. The scenes with the horses are so brutal. But I’ll never forget her sitting in CLARK’S car as he lets the horses go. As they gallop away to a much more hopeful fate (instead of being captured and sold off for dog food), she watches them run and whispers softly, “Go home. Go home…”

    That just slays me every time.

    Fox groomed her to be the tentpole comedian that they wanted her to be. However, they didn’t count on MARILYN being so bright and ambitious. Blondes weren’t supposed to be like that in the 50s. She refused to give into Fox (she fled to New York and began training at THE ACTORS STUDIO) and she decided that she would hold her ground.

    When they wouldn’t provide her with better scripts (they were all unchallenging comedies from an actor’s standpoint, some of them were even distastefully tawdry) she started her own production company. That’s how she ended up doing THE PRINCE & THE SHOWGIRL with LAURENCE OLIVIER.

    She didn’t want to be just another dumb blonde that people told disrespectful jokes about. She yearned to be valued for far more than the sensuality that made her a star in the first place.

    But she certainly had a very unique quality all her own. You’re completely right about that, Craig. I wonder what she would’ve accomplished had she lived. She was an extraordinary woman. Very gifted in her own right.

    I suppose we should be grateful for the limited time she was here. She graced us with her gorgeousness and sweet charm for a lovely brief period.

    But at least we had that.

  5. You’re right that our impression of stars is largely looks based, but there’s something else there too. If beauty was all it was, there would be a lot more of them, but how many pretty people can we think of who fall flat?

    Conversely, how many stars seem very ordinary in real life when you see them? Certain people come off on the big screen and others don’t and what comes off on the big screen doesn’t usually translate into real life.

    I was slow to get on the MARILYN bandwagon because her talents were so rarely put to their best use. She was alway so much better than the material she was in.

    THE MISFITS makes me sad, especially when I see it as partly being about her. You’re right about that scene with the horses.

    It’s strange, to read reviews of it today, THE MISFITS isn’t all that well regarded in some circles, but I thought it was fantastic. Ah well. To each their own.

    French Girls. I don’t know what it is about them and chic. It’s cultural somehow. They grow up with it. This weird ability to just be able to throw something on and look fabulous.

  6. Miranda Wilding Says:

    Craig, when I was referring to the way that film stars look and attempting to illustrate our reactions to them, I only meant that we’re watching very attractive people playing fictional roles (for the most part). Aside from interviews, we don’t have much to go on in terms of what they’re really like.

    Having acted myself and being aware of the way artists choose roles and go through a particular process (which admittedly is very different for each individual), there may be some similarities between yourself and the person that you play. But I think most actors that are serious about the work pick a wide palette of colours to paint with. Some artists choose roles on the basis of how different they are from their real personalities.

    So, that was precisely my point. Unless someone is buried under a ton of latex or they have a false nose, what you’re seeing on the screen is reasonably authentic. (For the most part, anyway.)

    Actors can be dashing, heroic, witty or stylish when they have words on a page to read and costumers that will provide them with great wardrobes. But are they like that off camera? Maybe. Maybe not.

    Often, to their great dismay, they portray a character and that persona follows them around for the rest of their natural lives.

    RITA HAYWORTH apparently complained that every man she ever met after 1946 expected her to be GILDA – and she wasn’t.

    “They went to bed with Gilda and they woke up with me.”

    I’ve adored RITA my whole life. I can understand the frustration. But, as legacies go, that sure as hell isn’t a bad one to have.

    So…certainly there has to be more than beauty that keeps you interested in someone on screen. Some people have star quality, which is almost impossible to define. It’s just that you know it when you see it. There are some actors that possess so much magnetism that you can’t stop looking at them. If they have a small or limited part in a film you want to see more of them. It’s certainly not something that you can create. Artists either have it or they don’t.

    I’ve always said that the ultimate movie star has three things: beauty, talent and charisma. Some have all three. But some actors get by on just one.

    As far as artists making very different impressions off screen than on, I think that the camera just loves some people. For whatever reason, they photograph better and seem much more attractive in a movie then they would walking down the street.

    Many people automatically assume that actors are much taller off screen than they are generally. Quite often they’re surprisingly short or very petite in person. That has usually been my experience in meeting anyone noteworthy. I don’t know exactly what it is. But I think it has a great deal to do with the fact that we watch them on huge screens. So we expect them to be larger than life. It’s a very romantic mindset but often untrue.

    As for MARILYN…

    THE MISFITS makes me sad, too. That’s why I can’t watch it any more. I find it much too draining emotionally. That is not to say it’s not excellent on a lot of different levels. But enjoyment and appreciation are two different things.

    I greatly admire MARILYN for the artistic choices that she made and for the risks that she took. She was really a fascinating woman on screen and off. I know definitively that a great intellectual like ARTHUR MILLER would never have married Ms. Monroe if he didn’t feel strongly that she had more to offer than her unique brand of blonde sensuality.

    It certainly says something about her as a person, that 40 odd years after her passing, we’re still engaged passionately in conversation about her. This is long before any of us were here.

    But she left a wonderful legacy for all of us. We have to remember that. That’s ultimately what’s important.

Leave a Reply

