THE LAST FEW MINUTES OF STREETS OF FIRE (WITH SPOILERS)…

I wasn’t going to do this.

When I was thinking about topics/articles for today, I suddenly wondered: Why not? I can do whatever the hell I want. This is my site, after all.

I selected a YouTube clip from STREETS OF FIRE to add to DIANE LANE’S Style Transformation yesterday. I had been trying to choose between two strong scenes – musical numbers that open and close the movie. NOWHERE FAST is at the beginning. TONIGHT IS WHAT IT MEANS TO BE YOUNG is at the end.

I decided to go with the former because I didn’t want to spoil it for anyone who may not have seen it.

But now I think what the hell…

STREETS OF FIRE is an excellent film for all the reasons that I stated in my DIANE LANE post yesterday. Despite all of that, it really arrived DOA in the summer of 84. It made practically no money. No one even discusses it any more.

I might as well do my part. If I can get ONE PERSON to watch it and love it then I’ve done my good deed for the day. Seems a shame that such a terrific film should go unnoticed.

The great thing about these musical numbers is that you actually feel, unlike 99% of the movies out in the marketplace, that you’re really at that hall, watching people perform live. The energy and the immediacy are there. DIANE is largely responsible for that. (Though that razor sharp editing helps a lot. It was the video era, after all.)

She takes her wild unfettered sexuality and just ramps it up into the stratosphere. She moves like silk on a hot summer night. Like a crazed wildcat looking for trouble.

The 1984 Best Actress line up is a joke. Even though DIANE didn’t actually sing I would definitely have nominated her, as well as KATHLEEN TURNER (for either ROMANCING THE STONE or CRIMES OF PASSION). Horrific bloody oversights.

So this is the end of the picture. If you don’t want to know what happens, don’t watch it. OR turn it off IMMEDIATELY after the camera leads you out of the concert hall.

***********SPOILERS**********

Personally, the ending doesn’t bother me. Tom is a very proud guy. For Ellen, it’s all about her career right now. She’s got a lot on her plate and she needs that time to make the big push and solidify her stardom. But she won’t always have to work that hard.

Tom’s not the type of man who could carry her bags and watch quietly from the sidelines. Definitely not his style. But just the way he looked at her when he said, “If you ever need me, I’ll be there…”

Those two are done for now. But believe me, they’re not over forever.

When the right time arrives, he’ll be back. It’s just one of those things. She’s got a hold on him that will last eternally.

**********END SPOILERS***********

So please check this out. It’s an intelligent, imaginative film that’s cooler than hell.

Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

