WOODY ALLEN DISCUSSES HIS FILMOGRAPHY

WOODY ALLEN is someone that I’ve worshipped ever since I was aware that there were movies to be savoured and enjoyed.

I idolize him in much the same way as I adore people like ELIZABETH TAYLOR, AVA GARDNER, RITA HAYWORTH, JULIE CHRISTIE, VIVIEN LEIGH, MERYL STREEP, LAURENCE OLIVIER, AL PACINO, ROBERT REDFORD, LAUREN BACALL, FAYE DUNAWAY, MARILYN MONROE, ANN MARGRET, BARBRA STREISAND, DUSTY SPRINGFIELD, DEBORAH HARRY, DAVID LEAN, STANLEY KUBRICK, F. SCOTT FITZGERALD, D.H. LAWRENCE, BEETHOVEN, DURAN DURAN, THE BEATLES and THE ROLLING STONES.

There are certainly many more. But, in a nutshell, those were my supreme artistic influences growing up. In short, the individuals who made me the person that I am today.

I think WOODY will always be my favourite director. He writes such beautiful, complicated, intriguing roles for women and he understands modern relationships better than any other filmmaker I’ve ever come across. It may be cinematic magic. But it all rings astoundingly true.

Though I’ve never met him, WOODY is not particularly enigmatic to me. If any of you saw BARBARA KOPPLE’S documentary about him (WILD MAN BLUES) then I think you have some idea of what I’m talking about.

There are some major differences between the mild mannered neurotic he plays in many of his films and his real persona. He’s actually strong willed, focused and exceptionally driven. He also has a fiery temper.

As he states in this particular EW article, “Even when I’m embraced, I’m not embraced warmly. It doesn’t matter to me.”

Along with the gallery, he talks about 12 different films (some of his most gloriously impressive work – along with his latest, VICKY CHRISTINA BARCELONA), including: TAKE THE MONEY & RUN, SLEEPER, ANNIE HALL, INTERIORS, MANHATTAN, STARDUST MEMORIES, HANNAH & HER SISTERS and HUSBANDS & WIVES.

To find it, please go here

2 Responses to “WOODY ALLEN DISCUSSES HIS FILMOGRAPHY”

  1. Thanks ever so for that interview, glimster. I can ALWAYS count on you.

    Wow. For a man in his seventies WOODY’S as sharp as a tack. I love his mind.

    He’s simply phenomenal….

Leave a Reply

