ROGER MOORE: BEING BOND WAS NO WALK IN THE PARK

FROM THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

Of all the gentlemen who played JAMES BOND, ROGER MOORE was not exactly at the top of my list.

He’s a good looking guy with a sublime wit. Certainly has the sophisticated thing down cold. But there was no sense of danger or hard masculine energy about him – essential qualities for a truly great BOND.

(TIMOTHY DALTON and DANIEL CRAIG both have those things going for them IN SPADES, which is why they happen to be my favourites.)

But this article definitely boosts my opinion of him. Here and now.

It’s not easy being BOND

ROGER MOORE, who starred in seven JAMES BOND films in the 70s and 80s, recounts his days as the dashing super spy in his upcoming memoir MY WORD IS MY BOND and says things weren’t always as they seemed.

“Jimmy Bond had a big jet boat chase in Live & Let Die,” he wrote. “I did quite a few run throughs to practice and whilst banking on one such run, the engine cut out. I had no steering! I therefore continued in a straight line…directly into a wooden boat house.”

He instantly catapulted from the boat into a wall, cracking his front teeth and twisting his knee.

“There I was, as a fearless 007, hobbling on a cane to my boat and then pretending to be indestructible for the cameras. Who says I can’t act?”

The book, due out NOVEMBER 4, also recounts the time he bumped into a young STEVEN SPIELBERG in a Paris hotel.

“He was a huge Bond fan and he said that he would love to direct one of the films. He’d recently had great success with Jaws and Close Encounters and was considered a very hot property. I was rather excited and went looking for (producer) Cubby Broccoli to tell him.”

But Mr. Broccoli, who steered the BOND franchise for over three decades, shook his head and asked, “Do you know how much of a percentage he’d want?”

“It’s always been policy that no Bond director ever got a slice of the box office profits,” Mr. Moore stated. “So Spielberg went off and made Indiana Jones who I reckon to be a period James Bond.”

I like his style. Who says I can’t act?

This is going to be quite the book…

Leave a Reply

