MY TWENTY FAVOURITE ACTORS (MALE)


Believe me. It was a hell of a lot of fun putting all those stats and photos together.

So now I have my 20 Favourite Actors (Male).

I’ve never had them together in a group before. I feel kinda giddy…

Now, I’m fully cognizant of the fact that some of these men are no longer with us. It’s heartbreaking. The world is definitely a poorer place for all that.

Certainly some of them are far too old for me now.

But I find all of them completely irresistible on some level. They also leave me utterly awestruck in terms of their artistry.

And as I said back in the actress thread, if you’re interested and you’re reading this: consider yourself tagged.

So let’s get cracking…

Here they are – the 20 gentlemen who rock my world….

#20 ROBERT PRESTON
#19 WILLIAM POWELL

#18 TIMOTHY DALTON

#17 PETER SELLERS

#16 GARY OLDMAN

#15 PAUL NEWMAN
#14 BURT LANCASTER

#13 ALBERT FINNEY

#12 ROBERT MITCHUM
#15 SEAN PENN
#11 SEAN PENN

#10 JEFF BRIDGES

#9 RUSSELL CROWE

#8 ORSON WELLES

#7 JACK LEMMON

#6 ANTHONY HOPKINS

#5 MICHAEL CAINE

#4 CARY GRANT

#3 LAURENCE OLIVIER

#2 AL PACINO

#1 ROBERT REDFORD

6 Responses to “MY TWENTY FAVOURITE ACTORS (MALE)”

  1. Another great list, Miranda.

    I’ve been hoping someone would kick off a 20 Favorite Actor meme and I’ve got my personal list at the ready.

    And we have quite a bit of overlap.

  2. Yay for Peter Sellers and Jack Lemmon… I did both actresses and actors and found picking the men so much easier. http://moviewings.blogspot.com/2008/12/my-answer-to-20-actresses-meme-i-like.html

  3. Thanks a bunch, Pat. You’re a brightly coloured gem in a sea of fake diamonds, girl.

    Hey, I would believe it. Anyone who’s a fan of the magnificent LENA OLIN has great taste. So I’m sure that we’re on the same page with many of these awesome men.

    I’ll keep checking over at your site (which is DOODAD KIND OF TOWN for the uninitiated).

    I’m dying to see what you came up with…

  4. Welcome, Wendy. Nice to have some new faces around here.

    With such marvelous taste as well…

    You have LEE REMICK on your actress list!!!!

    That is an absolute stroke of genius. Of all the underrated performers, LEE is right there at the very top. Plus she was acres of gorgeous. She had the most incredible ice blue eyes I’ve ever seen.

    I was really sad when she passed away. She elevated every film she was in with her exquisite grace. She even made it work for her when she was playing trashy (like in ANATOMY OF A MURDER). She always brought a lot of different colours to a part. But she had it worked out so that there was never any dissonance.

    GREAT CHOICE. You also have LESLIE CARON.

    PLUS you have MERYL, MARILYN and LAUREN.

    Your male counterparts are equally impressive. You picked a lot of men that I would’ve liked to. But we had nearly a century of cinema to choose from and only 20 slots.

    These are inspired: PAUL NEWMAN, JOSEPH COTTON, WILLIAM HOLDEN, CLARK GABLE, ALEC GUINNESS…

    And you also have JACK and CARY…

    Well done, Wendy. Those are breathtaking selections.

    Come back any time….

  5. Miranda, I ‘ve posted my list of fave actors.

    (I went a little over 20, couldn’t help myself!)

  6. Pat, I’m DYING to see who you’ve got on there.

    I’m going to go over and have a look right now.

    This should be interesting. But I know that you’ll have some wonderful (and likely gorgeous) selections…

Leave a Reply

