CINEMATIC PASSIONS’ OSCAR TOP 5

00434_05259
katewinslet14
sean-penn-20061207-186430

Only two more sleeps till the big day.

Well, one for me. I’m always up for the OSCAR nomination morning press conference. I don’t usually sleep. Even if I have somewhere to be later on that day.

Like work…

This is always – beyond a shadow of a doubt – the most frustrating, annoying, heartbreaking morning of the entire year.

I possess some knowledge of film and acting. I know what good work is…and how difficult it is to get there. It’s so sad to see your favourites snubbed. You know (and they surely do) that they may never have another opportunity.

It’s an unpredictable business.

One never knows…

I sit in front of the TV with my long lists and my Top 5, waiting with bated breath for the 5:40 AM Pacific call that will start the ball rolling.

Some people’s careers will be made at that announcement. They will go on to to even more wondrous work. Perhaps become legendary.

Other artists’ dreams will be shattered. They’ll be praying for either a comeback or one great part that will get them noticed again.

I don’t have a masochistic bone in my body. Why do I do this…?

It’s great to have fabulous performances and films rewarded. There are very few thrills equal to watching one of your favourites ascend to that podium and make a stirring speech.

Some of those moments are unforgettable. They stay with you for years on end.

*big sigh*

My Top 5s NEVER look like the ACADEMY’S. The most significant matchups I ever get in one category is three. Oddly enough, they usually come in BEST ACTRESS.

So…

Here is my Top 5 for the BEST PICTURE and ACTING categories.

These are NOT my predictions. These are the people and films I’ll be rooting for on Thursday morning.

Yeah, I know many of them are completely lost causes. But that’s just the way it all shakes out…

Feel free to comment with your Top 5s if the mood strikes you.

Here they are in alphabetical order.

Let the games begin…

BEST PICTURE
BRIDESHEAD REVISITED
IN BRUGES
MILK
MY BLUEBERRY NIGHTS
VICKY CRISTINA BARCELONA

BEST ACTRESS
SALLY HAWKINS – HAPPY GO LUCKY
ANGELINA JOLIE – CHANGELING
FRANCES McDORMAND – MISS PETTIGREW LIVES FOR A DAY
KRISTIN SCOTT THOMAS – I’VE LOVED YOU SO LONG
KATE WINSLET – REVOLUTIONARY ROAD

BEST ACTOR
COLIN FARRELL – IN BRUGES
BRENDAN GLEESON – IN BRUGES
RICHARD JENKINS – THE VISITOR
FRANK LANGELLA – FROST/NIXON
SEAN PENN – MILK

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
HAYLEY ATWELL – BRIDESHEAD REVISITED
VIOLA DAVIS – DOUBT
REBECCA HALL – VICKY CRISTINA BARCELONA
KRISTIN SCOTT THOMAS – THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL
KATE WINSLET – THE READER

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
JAVIER BARDEM – VICKY CRISTINA BARCELONA
EMILE HIRSCH – MILK
HEATH LEDGER – THE DARK KNIGHT
LEE PACE – MISS PETTIGREW LIVES FOR A DAY
DAVID STRATHAIRN – MY BLUEBERRY NIGHTS

Leave a Reply

