KATE’S BIG NIGHT

kate_winslet_closeup
kate_winslet_exclusive_05

The goddess KATE, of course, is the lass that I’m rooting for in the BEST ACTRESS category on Sunday evening.

PEOPLE conducted a short interview with the awesome Ms. Winslet.

She says she doesn’t have an acceptance speech prepared.

I hope to hell she has one by the weekend. I think it’s probably going to come in handy…

PEOPLE: Do you have an acceptance speech prepared?

KATE: I don’t at all. I’m just not thinking that far ahead. I just feel so happy to have had this nomination, that it’s for a film that was so challenging.

PEOPLE: Any dresses in mind?

KATE: It’s such fun to work out what you’re going to wear. You become incredibly girly. In England we don’t have the tradition of prom or anything like that. The closest we came was a tragic school disco where the lights would break and the music was awful. In the last few years – maybe it’s age – I feel very settled within myself. I don’t feel the red carpet pressure. I don’t know what I’m going to be wearing yet. Hopefully it will be wonderful and relaxed.

PEOPLE: What are looking forward to the most?

KATE: One of the great OK, you can breathe now moments is when you’ve gotten through the red carpet. ‘Oh god, what if I trip over someone? What if I say something stupid?’ The great relief is that moment when you get in the doors and there aren’t any cameras and you go, ‘Whew! Where’s the bathroom?’

Leave a Reply

