THE 15 FAVOURITE DANCERS MEME

2691463190044785100pGZEII_ph

My dear friend PAT from DOODAD KIND OF TOWN tagged me for this fabulous meme.

Thanks, Patty. This was an absolute blast.

In turn, I’ll tag anyone who reads this and wants to participate.

One thing I’ve always been particularly passionate about is dance. It’s a life long love and inspiration that has enthralled me as long as I can remember. It’s certainly closely related to my other obsessions: film and music.

So, without further embellishment, here are my 15 Favourite Dancers…

White_Nights_1239088443_1_1985
#15 GREGORY HINES
Here was a man with breathtaking style that could do no wrong. In WHITE NIGHTS and THE COTTON CLUB GREGORY had vital opportunities to show the world one of his true gifts. Tragically, he left us much too soon.
sweet-charity12
#14 CHITA RIVERA
CHITA RIVERA is the quintessential firecracker – fierce and sizzling. Of course she’s much more well known for her legendary theatrical achievements than her work in the cinema. But she sparkled in SWEET CHARITY and in her brief cameo in CHICAGO.
153029__dance3_l
#13 PAUL MERCURIO
PAUL MERCURIO is the wild card in STRICTLY BALLROOM. He’s a rebel and a rule breaker. Totally determined to fulfill his artistic destiny no matter what anyone else thinks. Does he ever make the most of it…
billy-elliot-800-75
#12 JAMIE BELL
JAMIE is the perfect BILLY ELLIOT. It’s the 80s in rural England. With BILLY it’s not even a conscious decision. He has some idea that he doesn’t want to follow his brother and father into the inevitable end that generations in his small town have settled for: working in the mines. All he knows is that he must dance. It’s the most overwhelming joy in his young life.
2735416255_5ca80f3bf2
#11 LESLIE BROWNE
LESLIE BROWNE is a fantastic trained dancer that had some serious success in films – principally in THE TURNING POINT (both she and MIKHAIL BARYSHNIKOV were nominated for supporting actor ACADEMY AWARDS) and NIJINSKY.
Dance_with_me_2005_Take_the_Lead_7
#10 KATYA VIRSHILAS
See the blonde dancing with ANTONIO BANDERAS? I don’t think anyone who’s viewed TAKE THE LEAD could ever forget her.
annreinking
#9 ANN REINKING
ANN REINKING is spectacular. With her striking physicality and exceptional talent, she is one of a kind. In ALL THAT JAZZ, she showed them how it was done…
gene-kelly-singin_l
#8 GENE KELLY
GENE KELLY was a cinematic icon. He could do it all – act, direct and dance…
2717813346_159f161e43
#7 MIKHAIL BARYSHNIKOV
Without question one of the greatest dancers of the 20th century.
Ginger_Rogers_majestic
#6 GINGER ROGERS
Though she left musicals behind for more challenging dramatic (and comedic) fare, GINGER was an unbelievable dancer. She even did it in high heels…

cyd_charisse-bandwagon_2
#5 CYD CHARISSE
CYD CHARISSE was incomparable. They called her beautiful dynamite. But she was even more than that…
chicago04
#4 CATHERINE ZETA JONES
It seems particularly fitting that one of the sexiest women in the world would win an OSCAR for her extraordinary portrayal of CHICAGO vamp VELMA KELLY. CATHERINE is a force of nature in this film. Her incendiary turn in CELL BLOCK TANGO likely had something to do with her victory.
0
#3 LESLEY ANN WARREN
LESLEY is a fabulous actor. She’s also a classic beauty with a distractingly sensual presence. Most people aren’t aware that she is an incredible dancer. In VICTOR/VICTORIA, she brought the house down with her provocative show stopping CHICAGO number.
annm0
#2 ANN MARGRET
ANN MARGRET’S versatility as a performer is unparalleled. By the time she’d racked up two OSCAR nominations in the 70s, people knew she was far more than just an emerald eyed sexpot. But ANN was not only a serious actor. She was also an accomplished entertainer. She had her own nightclub act in Las Vegas for years. Anyone that’s seen those splendidly ridiculous 60s movies she appeared in (BYE BYE BIRDIE, MURDERERS ROW) knows that she can really move.
RitaHayworth
#1 RITA HAYWORTH
How could my #1 possibly be anyone besides the magnificent RITA HAYWORTH? RITA actually became a professional dancer as a very young girl. Long before she ever was a goddess of the silver screen. She was stunningly gorgeous with mesmerizing charisma.

RITA appeared in musicals throughout the 40s (COVER GIRL, YOU’LL NEVER GET RICH, YOU WERE NEVER LOVELIER) and showed off her dancing expertise in her finest film (and best role) GILDA. She was the most gloriously graceful woman I’ve ever seen.

As a special treat, here’s RITA in an electrifying sequence from GILDA.

This is what star quality is all about.

Enjoy…

2 Responses to “THE 15 FAVOURITE DANCERS MEME”

  1. Miranda…

    Wow! This is a great, totally kick ass list.

    It’s so cool that you included dancers from recent films. I’d almost forgotten about TAKE THE LEAD, I blush to admit, but there is some terrific dancing in that one. And BILLY ELLIOT – I need to see that one again.

    I love that you included Rita Hayworth and Ann Margret.

    I knew you’d put together a terrific list with great pics and you didn’t let me down.

    Thanks for playing.

  2. Patty, I’m thrilled to bits that you approve of my list. It delights me to no end.

    You were the one that allowed me to participate in this thoroughly marvelous meme. So I owe this all to you.

    It was easy for me to think of TAKE THE LEAD and BILLY ELLIOT because I own them both. TTL has also been on the tube off and on fairly recently. Not to mention that I recently found out (beyond a shadow of a doubt) that KATYA lives in my home town.

    So there are endless amounts of actual reasons why.

    ANN and RITA are both childhood idols of mine. I’ve been thinking a lot about RITA lately. Just in terms of the way that she shaped my consciousness growing up. She was utterly glamorous. I loved the way that she dumped the Prince and went back to the States when she finally realized what a jackass he was.

    Women (even famous females) didn’t do that very often back then.

    (GRACE KELLY sure as hell couldn’t find the courage to do that – even if she had been egregiously unhappy.)

    RITA had guts. She was the kind of woman that I deeply admire.

    Plus I recently saw GILDA on the big screen. It was an experience I’ll never forget.

    Let’s just say that GILDA and I have an endless array of things in common.

    Thank you for providing me with this privilege. It was awesome fun.

    You are the coolest chick in the entire universe…

Leave a Reply

