JUST ANOTHER TUESDAY NIGHT IN THE BIG CITY…



A tiger is a tiger. Not a lamb, mein herr…

My sister Veronica and I had this double act and my husband Charlie travelled around with us. Now for the last number in our act we did these 20 acrobatic tricks in a row: one, two, three, four, five, splits, spread eagles, backflips, flip flops, one right after the other.

So this one night before the show we’re at the hotel Cicero, the three of us boozin, having a few laughs – and we run out of ice, so I go out to get some. I come back, open the door and there’s Veronica and Charlie doing #17 – the spread eagle.

Well, I was in such a state of shock that I completely blacked out. I can’t remember a thing. It wasn’t until later, when I was washing the blood off my hands, I even knew they were dead…

Sometimes life throws you a few curve balls. There is no getting around it.

Last night I was going to attend a double bill of CABARET and CHICAGO.

I own both of those films. They are my two favourite movie musicals of all time. I was incredibly jazzed because I haven’t seen CHICAGO in a cinema since 2003 (when I viewed it twelve times – yeah, yeah, sue me…) and I have never seen CABARET in a theatrical setting. At all.

So I was set to go and I was genuinely looking forward to writing about it. But then the dance society that had organized this film series decided to cancel it.

They had very low attendance on their first venture, which was a duet of FAME and FLASHDANCE. So they felt that it was best not to continue.

These things happen. That’s why there’s always Plan B.

So regretfully, I leave you with the very lovely and exquisitely talented RENEE singing NOWADAYS.

Ladies and gentlemen, Ms. Miranda Wilding says good night…

Leave a Reply

