THAT’S THE WAY I’VE ALWAYS HEARD IT SHOULD BE: MY OSCAR TOP 5 (2010)





Tomorrow at 5:40 AM Pacific time, the mystery will finally be solved.

Then there will be more questions. Along with the inevitable bitching and moaning.

Some of that frustration will undoubtedly come from me.

Yes, Tuesday morning the OSCAR nominations will finally be announced.

It’s time to reveal my own personal Top 5 – the people and the films I will be rooting for.

Unfortunately, the ACADEMY has expanded their BEST PICTURE slate to ten this year. I can’t openly discuss my choices in that category. If I do, then everyone will know what my TOP 10 FILMS for 2009 are.

It’s impossible.

But I will state for the record (as I’m sure most people know by now) that I’ve got my fingers crossed for INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS.

Here are my selections in the acting categories. Some of these individuals will have their names called out within the next 24 hours.

But a number of them don’t have a hope in hell. It’s brutal, heartbreaking, devastating.

There’s nothing that you can do. It’s the OSCARS.

Here are the performers I’m backing (in alphabetical order)…

BEST ACTRESS
HELEN MIRREN – THE LAST STATION
CAREY MULLIGAN – AN EDUCATION
MICHELLE PFEIFFER – CHERI
JULIA ROBERTS – DUPLICITY
MERYL STREEP – JULIE & JULIA

BEST ACTOR
JEFF BRIDGES – CRAZY HEART
GEORGE CLOONEY – UP IN THE AIR
JAMES McAVOY – THE LAST STATION
CLIVE OWEN – THE BOYS ARE BACK/DUPLICITY/THE INTERNATIONAL
BRAD PITT – INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
KIM BASINGER – THE BURNING PLAIN
VERA FARMIGA – UP IN THE AIR
DIANE KRUGER – INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS
MELANIE LAURENT – INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS
ROSAMUND PIKE – AN EDUCATION

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
DOMINIC COOPER – AN EDUCATION
CHRISTIAN McKAY – ME & ORSON WELLES
CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER – THE LAST STATION
PETER SARSGAARD – AN EDUCATION
CHRISTOPH WALTZ – INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS

*deep breath*

I guess we’ll find out soon enough. Won’t we…?

2 Responses to “THAT’S THE WAY I’VE ALWAYS HEARD IT SHOULD BE: MY OSCAR TOP 5 (2010)”

  1. hmm nope currently i haven’t seen the boys are back.

    leaves room in shame…

    anyway if trust comes out this year this year that will really rise clive’s attention via bloggers. don’t know if box office will do much…

    but yeah, i would have thought duplicity/the international would have done sooooo much better.

    especially duplicity/i was a little more fond of that… 🙂

    oh well maybe clive can put his name in the hat to play a super hero.

  2. glimby, don’t feel bad about not seeing THE BOYS ARE BACK.

    Hardly anybody did anywhere. Except for me. Too bad. It was a wonderful film. CLIVE was simply extraordinary.

    Hmmm…

    I don’t know if CLIVE would take on those kinds of parts. Yeah, he did do SHOOT EM UP. But he seems fairly serious about his career and the roles that he chooses.

    There were many rumours about him being offered BOND. He claims he never was. But something tells me that he probably wouldn’t be interested anyway.

    I think he prefers work that’s more challenging.

    But we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

