CINEMATIC PASSIONS’ TOP 20 MALE PERFORMANCES OF THE 2000S


Here it is, kids. Just continuing on with the list theme.

More from the 90s tomorrow…

20. PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN – CHARLIE WILSON’S WAR

19. ALBERT FINNEY – ERIN BROCKOVICH

18.RUSSELL CROWE – GLADIATOR

17. PAUL NEWMAN – ROAD TO PERDITION

16. SAM RILEY – CONTROL

15. GENE HACKMAN – THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS

14. GEORGE CLOONEY – MICHAEL CLAYTON

13. RUSSELL CROWE – 3:10 TO YUMA

12. PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN – BEFORE THE DEVIL KNOWS YOU’RE DEAD

11. JAVIER BARDEM – THE SEA INSIDE

10. PAUL RUDD – THE SHAPE OF THINGS

9. HEATH LEDGER – BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN

8. STEVE BUSCEMI – GHOST WORLD

7. SEAN PENN – MILK

6. JEFF BRIDGES – THE DOOR IN THE FLOOR

5. MARK RUFFALO – YOU CAN COUNT ON ME


4. CILLIAN MURPHY – BREAKFAST ON PLUTO

3. CHRISTIAN McKAY – ME & ORSON WELLES


2. CLIVE OWEN – CLOSER

1. DANIEL DAY LEWIS – THERE WILL BE BLOOD

2 Responses to “CINEMATIC PASSIONS’ TOP 20 MALE PERFORMANCES OF THE 2000S”

  1. Miranda –

    Long time no see!

    Great, really interesting list.

    SO HAPPY to see the love for Christian McKay whose Orson Welles was perfection. So disappointing that he was overlooked on pretty much all the the acting award slates this year. He was fantastic.

    Hope you are well.

  2. Well, I’ll be…

    How the hell are you, Patty?!!!

    I’m thrilled that you like the list. Yeah, it was supremely disappointing to see how the incredible CHRISTIAN McKAY was shuffled to the sidelines this awards season.

    He’s British and he didn’t even win the god damn BAFTA.

    *sigh*

    Honestly, I thought that CHRISTOPH WALTZ from IB was the living end. That is an immensely entertaining and thoroughly amazing performance. I would no doubt have given him my SUPPORTING ACTOR AWARD if I had not seen ME & ORSON WELLES.

    But I did. So there it is.

    What the hell…? As long as discerning people like you and I can appreciate the intricacies of Mr. McKay’s exceptional work, then I guess that’s just dandy.

    How am I?

    That’s a loaded question. Hardy har har.

    I’m very well. But my life (always complicated and not immune to some far flung occurrences from out of left field) has gotten a little more intense as of late.

    Just kicked up a few notches, shall we say.

    My ex is making me nuts. But that’s nothing new.

    I recognize no terms except my own. It’s my way or the highway, baby.

    You’ve worked in theatre, Patty. I’m sure you’ve met your share of famous men.

    I’ve been acquainted with a number of famous men off line. This is really nothing new. Am I surprised? Perhaps by the specific personalities involved. But otherwise…not at all.

    So…

    Famous men – at the end of the day – are just people like everyone else. They’re not living ordinary lives. But they still put their pants on one leg at a time.

    As far as I know…

    I’ve had a certain amount of attention paid to me lately from three rather well known gentlemen.

    This is the way I look at it.

    I don’t care what someone’s worth or how much power or influence he has. Not when it comes to a romantic relationship. Hell no.

    All I’m interested in is character and how I am treated. If I am worshipped sincerely (because I can go anywhere and be with anyone I choose), then I might be willing to make a go of it.

    Individuals will come up to my standards. Or I’ll find a door and walk through it – without hesitation.

    People have my best interests at heart. Or they don’t. I’ve never wasted my time with anyone whose needs conflict with mine.

    That’s it. That’s all.

    End of story.

    I’ve come to the obvious conclusion that only one of them is worth my time.

    He’s the sweetest person in the world. He actually did something that really turned my head about a week ago. And I am not an easy girl to impress.

    Due to this, he has brownie points that go on forever. Literally for the rest of our lives.

    But I won’t be talking about it here.

    I wish my mama were here to see this. No doubt she’d be critical and say that I shouldn’t go around yapping about what a wild untamed chick I am.

    She loved the fact that I could dress well and had the cool feminine grace thing down perfectly.

    But she always took issue with my mouth, the men that I picked and the (endless amount of) dramatic situations that I got myself into.

    She used to shake her head constantly.

    But I’m a lion. I gotta be me.

    My sensuality comes with the territory. It’s a big part of me. I don’t want this site to be boring. Just because you’re intense doesn’t mean you’re soft in the head. I think that secretly she’d be delighted.

    So it’s been a fascinating decade so far, Patty. I have no idea what will happen next.

    But I don’t think it will be pedestrian or mundane. Put it that way.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’ve missed you one hell of a lot.

Leave a Reply

