PRINCE: THE INTERNET IS OVER


FROM POPEATER

The internet has officially ended its bold and exciting run of relevancy, according to pop culture touchstone and singer PRINCE.

“The internet’s completely over,” the legendary recording artist told the UK’s Daily Mirror.

“The internet’s like MTV. At one time MTV was hip and suddenly it became outdated. Anyway, all these computers and digital gadgets are no good. They just fill your head with numbers and that can’t be good for you.”

The interview is touted as PRINCE’S first sit down with a newspaper in 10 years. Writer PETER WILLIS was forbidden from bringing a recorder, camera or cell phone into PRINCE’S Minneapolis recording studio/lair.

“Prince decided the album will be released in CD format only in The Mirror,” PETER WILLIS wrote.

The star’s 33rd studio release 20TEN, will be packaged free with the newspaper and other British and European dailies this weekend.

“There’ll be no downloads anywhere in the world because of his ongoing battles against internet abuses. Unlike most other rock stars, he has banned YouTube and iTunes from using any of his music and has even closed down his own official website.”

What’s PRINCE’S take on the whole thing?

“I don’t see why I should give my new music to iTunes or anyone else. They won’t pay me an advance for it and then they get angry when they can’t get it.”

No word yet on American distribution for the unorthodox venture.

The writer, an unabashed PRINCE fan, calls the album “instantly infectious,” “a return to his early blistering form” and “amazing.”

And why 20TEN?

“I just think it’s a year that really matters,” PRINCE commented.

“These are very trying times. People, especially young people, don’t have enough God in their lives.”

The mysterious PRINCE, whose name was once a symbol, was short about several questions.

His childhood? “I don’t talk about the past.”

Former rival Michael Jackson? “Next question.”

Read the full interview here

7 Responses to “PRINCE: THE INTERNET IS OVER”

  1. uh????

    like people aren’t gonna take the cd from the paper and put it on the net. put it on whatever portable device.

    “I don’t see why I should give my new music to iTunes or anyone else. They won’t pay me an advance for it and then they get angry when they can’t get it.”

    The writer, an unabashed PRINCE fan, calls the album “instantly infectious,” “a return to his early blistering form” and “amazing.”

    do you think someone that’s mega fan getting an ultra rare interview can be trusted? ha ha….

    “These are very trying times. People, especially young people, don’t have enough God in their lives.”

    and why do i expect he’s *still* singing about sex…. 😉

    maybe we can get prince together with this guy. 😉

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/07/12/hayao-miyazaki-ipad-use-d_n_643304.html

  2. I noticed that too, glimby.

    You can’t exactly say that someone is objective when they admit right up front that they’re a fan. But who knows???

    A lot of musicians are choked about the way the industry has had to adapt because of the internet. I don’t blame them. If I felt that a lot of my income was not getting to me because of downloading (after putting in all of that incredible creative effort), I’d be seriously upset too.

    PRINCE has always felt strongly about these issues. He’s railed against the internet for as long as I can remember. This is nothing new.

    No, no, no, honey bear.

    PRINCE is not singing about sex any more. He gave that up a while back. He’s a devout Jehovah’s Witness now.

    So no more hot impassioned songs about the good life. Or anything resembling it. From what I understand, he doesn’t even perform those songs live any more.

    I just loved him when I was growing up. I used to sing and dance to those songs around the house when I was little. My mom told me that she knew from that point in time that my hot Irish blood was going to go full throttle once I hit puberty.

    I dug those songs even before I knew what they were about. But then I liked them even better once I fully grasped the subtleties.

    As it were…

    LITTLE RED CORVETTE
    WHEN DOVES CRY
    KISS
    ALPHABET ST.
    BABY I’M A STAR
    LET’S PRETEND WE’RE MARRIED
    DELIRIOUS
    UNDER THE CHERRY MOON

    *deep sigh*

    They are all so spectacularly cool. Just the cutting edge.

    I still like to listen to them when I’m alone and just…think. But they’re even more fun to have on when you’ve got company.

    Yeah…

    Straight up. I have to say this. You are a very, very bad influence, glimster. Hee hee.

    Here I am trying to be so good. You just waltz right by and lead me down the primrose path.

    But then you southern boys are fabulous at that. Bring me some chocolate. Whisper in my ear softly and….the barriers just fall.

    God damn Ashley Wilkes. Or is it Rhett Butler?

    You boys could talk me into anything…

  3. A lot of musicians are choked about the way the industry has had to adapt because of the internet. I don’t blame them. If I felt that a lot of my income was not getting to me because of downloading (after putting in all of that incredible creative effort), I’d be seriously upset too.

    but i don’t believe that a lot of *these musicians* wouldn’t be downloading music if they weren’t already names…

    i don’t believe it.

    when you sometimes hear all the influences/ranges of music loves – whatever – a musician has i have a very hard time believing that well a lot of them would be so damn pure they’d wouldn’t download. (sometimes)

    especially if they didn’t live in one of the supposed media capitals and were curious about something/some genre that didn’t get mainstream play.

    repeat/rework i especially don’t believe it depending on certain genres of music a musican works in. you mean to tell me rappers wouldn’t have been downloading things (hell their music has a lot to do with samples and tech stuff)?

    also harder to believe the musician that talks about having decades of influences from like 18 different genres wouldn’t download some stuff??? even if it was just out of curiosity or to broaden their musical education.

    *ha ha ha* yeah i don’t believe it.

    about as believable to me as saying when these musicans hit the ultra big time that they don’t start buying ultra expensive stuff or that saying musicans aren’t known for sleeping with people that’s not a spouse/someone they’re dating.

    maybe a few of these big names that whine about downloading wouldn’t. i strongly suspect that more would…

    however if these big musicians were to say they think downloading is too rampant/being misused or whatever i could see their point. i’m not buying that all of them or even most of them wouldn’t download ever.

    or whatever…no….

  4. Well…

    I have nothing much to add here, my darling boy.

    There’s very little I’d be willing to state openly. But I’ve had a real education since I started this site. I was totally aware of many things that went on in the entertainment industry long before this.

    No fool I. There isn’t very much that gets by me.

    However, I do know now – beyond a shadow of a doubt – that there is a huge difference between public and private when you’re discussing people that are well known.

    Let’s just say that there was a lot more that I had to learn…and I’m exceptionally grateful that I am fully aware.

    But I can’t realistically dispute any of your points, glim.

    So that’s that…

  5. glimmer Says:

    “I don’t see why I should give my new music to iTunes or anyone else. They won’t pay me an advance for it and then they get angry when they can’t get it.”

    i’m going to take this literally because it’s funnier this way…

    uh, prince needs a company to give him an advance to make a cd???

    ha ha…

    if itunes gave prince an advance they’d likely also put whatever restrictions on him. and wasn’t the hate of things like that a reason for the slave face paint thing….?

  6. hmm…

    if i get the energy and can find the cd thing i’ll see if can set my printer to scanner mode. there’s this few pages on prince that made simon reynolds’ blissed out: the raptures of rock book you may find interesting.

    i type like two miles an hour. this will take me 2 hours to type…but anyway…

    prince is not so much a person as a persona, a space in which he can become anything he or we want him to be. his being, his desire is streched and broken over sexual/racial divides.

    so is prince’s impulse to always dissolve differences and borders. the desire to be everything for somebody, the yearning for ultimate closeness reached its lunatic peak in the sublime schizophrenia of if i was your girlfriend.

    the song agony is that of the spirit chafing against the straitjacket of sexual identity. sex for prince isn’t communication or exchange but something all together more mystical: the dissolution of the very differences and identities that make communication and sex possible.

    like morrisey, prince feels trapped by sex or rather by cultural assumptions/expectations vested in it. prince confounds this. he pursues like a panther and becomes the coy prey, presenting himself as rapacious subject of desire and fey object of bliss (anna stesia pleads praise me, ravish me)

    with if i was your girlfriend he created another identity for himself (camille) by subjecting his vocal to studio wizardry that tweaked it up to an androgynous 55 r.p.m.

    but maybe that isn’t such a departure when you consider that falsetto has always been a sexual mask…the sound of a woman coming from a man…a way to demonstrate to his intended lover that he understands her fears and desires as if he were female himself.

    that was credit to a michael freedburg.

    but simon’s book is very interesting if you have interest in gender/personas on sonics and for contrasting certain types of sonics/sounds with other genres you wouldn’t think have much in common (and sometimes they don’t that why the explanations are fascinating to me).

    those contrasts of metal or rap vs dreampop are still amazing. 🙂

  7. glim, you are so dead on with this stuff.

    I am incredibly impressed. I always am. But particularly today. You are most definitely cooking with fire, baby.

    I think PRINCE has always rallied against the monetary and power aspects of the music business that he doesn’t agree with. Obviously, there are a lot of things that he’s not jazzed about.

    I’m totally on his side. He’s a brilliant artist with a magnificent amount of creativity. He wants things on his terms. PRINCE doesn’t want a lot of idiots messing up the worlks for him.

    I understand completely.

    MICHAEL FREEDBURG has an intriguing perspective. The man can turn a pretty nifty phrase as well. I love good writing. It always inspires me.

    Sex for Prince isn’t communication or exchange but something all together more mystical.

    Like Morrisey, Prince feels trapped by sex or rather by cultural assumptions/expectations vested in it.

    Thoroughly fascinating, honey bear. Thanks for all of that.

    Oddly enough, that’s exactly how I feel about sex too. Absolutely and completely. As in forever and ever.

    Life is so bloody complicated. But maybe that’s what makes it…interesting.

Leave a Reply

