THE GOLDEN GLOW OF NOSTALGIA: THE YEAR 2000




I don’t feel particularly generous towards the year 2000. Though I much prefer the last decade to the 90s.

The last ten years were far more difficult for me personally. But there were also a lot of other things going on that were majestic and magical. So it evened out.

The 90s didn’t do a hell of a lot for me.

No big deal. When it gets tough you can see exactly what you’re made of. You can be proud that you got through. Then you can sit back and enjoy the good times.

I guess they’ve finally arrived.

What transpired in the year 2000’s pop culture landscape?

GILMORE GIRLS made its television debut. U2 was all the rage. BRITNEY SPEARS was becoming a musical force.

Vitamin C’s GRADUATION (FRIENDS FOREVER) and Baha Men’s WHO LET THE DOGS OUT were heard consistently on the radio. (Yeah, yeah. Sue me. I realize they’re essentially novelty songs. But I genuinely like them both.)

GLADIATOR (along with its star RUSSELL CROWE) won the ACADEMY AWARD for BEST PICTURE.

Our awesome friends from EW have a slideshow dedicated to the year 2000.

For the whole damn thing, please go here

Leave a Reply

