CLAIRE DANES DIGS DECORATING




She may have been the picture of the glamorous Hollywood golden girl in her ARMANI PRIVE gown at the EMMYS. But at home, CLAIRE DANES is closer to MARTHA STEWART.

“I am feverishly decorating,” the star told PEOPLE at Valspar Paint’s exhibition benefiting United States Artists in NYC.

CLAIRE, along with husband HUGH DANCY, recently purchased a country home in New York’s Hudson River Valley. She confessed that she’s obsessing over everything from lighting fixtures to what colour to paint her library.

(“I say library. It sounds very grand,” she clarified. “It’s not.”)

Either way, she and HUGH couldn’t be happier playing house.

“We bought a fairly old home and it’s the first time I’ve ever lived in an actual house. I grew up in a loft in [Manhattan’s] SoHo, so it’s completely exotic and novel for me to have a basement and an attic and stairs even! It’s a real adventure.”

And rather than hit the latest hotspots, CLAIRE and HUGH are content to keep it local.

“Hudson is a great hub for antiques. Warren Street is the strip and it’s just fantastic. It’s like my Disneyland.”

Another favourite venue? “There’s a great auction house near us that we go to. A lot. You can eat chili and brownies and just buy antiques. It’s heaven!”

And even when she doesn’t leave her “minimalist midcentury” digs, CLAIRE indulges her passion for design.

“I’ve discovered the wild world of the internet. I’m an avid 1stdibs.com peruser and eBay peruser. Etsy.com, VandM.com — I love them all. It’s really addictive and I’m very vulnerable to it all. I find it very seductive.”

“I will shop anywhere.”

Leave a Reply

