THE RICHNESS OF AUTUMN

My mom was an exceptionally wise woman.

She always said that I should let people think what they want and just do whatever I have to do.

But that’s not likely to happen.

Here’s what I’ve been pondering this particular Friday…

My mama also told me that you were known by the company that you keep. She felt that I would be better off spending my time with a certain kind of guy. She strongly favoured gentlemen. Being treated with respect, generosity and kindness is all too rare.

Especially these days. She was absolutely right.

I think that dudes should be gracious when a girl that they desire chooses someone else. You should be glad that she’s fulfilled and in a wonderful place instead of acting like spoiled children. All this bitching and moaning I keep hearing from various quarters is working on my last nerve.

So you’re not jazzed? That’s too bad. I haven’t done anything wrong. It’s my life. I am very very happy. I intend on staying that way.

If you’re going to act annoyed about what I write and the amount of sexual references involved, you’re complaining for nothing. Anyone that would have notable disdain for that obviously hasn’t been thinking while they were here.

That’s like saying it’s too hot in LA.

When I was in my early 20s, I heard something that I never forgot. A woman said that you would never be able to have what you really wanted in life unless you knew exactly what it was that you desired.

Everyone grows up with the idea of what his or her perfect mate will be like. For me, it boils down to five essential qualities, some distracting physical essentials and a number of treasured commonalities.

That’s all I’m going to say. But I feel incredibly fortunate.

I learned long ago (by the age of five, actually) that you can’t please everybody. So you may as well please yourself.

Anyway…

I saw THE BLACK KEYS when they opened for BECK in 2003. They were really good. But with our Friday musical highlight – TIGHTEN UP – they have ascended to the rock & roll pantheon.

It’s a modern classic.

Great video too. It shows exactly how far we have evolved from the playground. Apparently not a whole hell of a lot.

I believe fervently in giving credit where credit is due. So I’d like to thank the citizens of New Jersey (even the former residents) and the awesome people at The Georgia Straight.

They’ll know why.

That’s it for now. I’m gone for the day.

But when you think of me, visualize me sitting on the porch on the ol plantation in a glorious green gown, sipping lemonade, listening to SON OF A PREACHER MAN by DUSTY SPRINGFIELD on an endless loop and cleaning my shotgun.

SCARLETT O’HARA never understood what she needed until it was too damn late.

I all ready know.

Have a fabulous weekend, my darling readers.

But now it’s time for me to exit. Stage left…

Leave a Reply

