EDITOR SALLY MENKE DEAD AT 56

FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES

SALLY MENKE was a film editor best known for her long association with the director QUENTIN TARANTINO.

She worked on kinetic features like RESERVOIR DOGS, PULP FICTION, JACKIE BROWN, the KILL BILL movies and INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS.

Ms. Menke was found dead earlier today in the Beachwood Canyon section of the Hollywood Hills in Los Angeles.

She was 56.

THE LOS ANGELES TIMES reported that Ms. Menke went hiking on Monday morning and her friends contacted the police later in the day when she failed to return home. Her body was found Tuesday morning at the bottom of a ravine, not far from a parking lot where her car was located.

Ed Winter, the assistant chief of the Los Angeles County coroner’s office, told THE TIMES that the office was trying to determine if the recent heat wave had been a factor in Ms. Menke’s death.

Ms. Menke wrote in a 2009 essay for THE GUARDIAN about how she and Mr. Tarantino first worked together on his debut feature.

“I got in touch and he sent me this script for a thing called Reservoir Dogs and I just thought it was amazing. It floored me.”

She added: “I was hiking up in Canada on a remote mountain in Banff when I saw a phone box and I stopped to call L.A. and they confirmed I’d got the gig. I let out a yell that echoed around the mountain.”

In addition to her work with Mr. Tarantino, Ms. Menke also edited Billy Bob Thornton’s ALL THE PRETTY HORSES, for which she also served as an executive producer.

Discussing their collaboration some time ago, Mr. Tarantino said: “I write by myself. But when it comes to the editing I write with Sally.”

Leave a Reply

