LIZ PHAIR: WILDLY INSPIRED BY KEITH RICHARDS


FROM SPINNER

As LIZ PHAIR gets ready to embark on a Northeast tour starting DECEMBER 13 at New York City’s Bowery Ballroom, she can thank
KEITH RICHARDS’ book for giving her the boost to perform.

“The Keith book, I was like, ‘Fuck it! This is awesome. I’m actually a part of this,'” she told SPINNER about THE ROLLING STONES’ guitarist’s recently released memoir LIFE.

“I get to be a part of it because I’m a rock & roller too. It made me really invigorated for performing. I’m all into it right now. I wanna rock. I don’t think I’ve ever said that my entire career.”

LIZ recently reviewed LIFE for THE NEW YORK TIMES’ SUNDAY BOOK REVIEW section. It seemed stunningly appropriate for her to write about the memoir given that her 1993 debut album EXILE IN GUYVILLE was influenced by THE STONES’ classic double LP EXILE ON MAIN STREET.

“It’s kind of mindblowing,” she said of the book.

“I put it in the review, but I could not stop carving ‘LOL’ in the margins. Every page is like, ‘I can’t fucking believe he just said that.’

Given her recent experience writing about another person’s memoir, would LIZ consider penning an autobiography?

“Yeah, I would. But I think I have to be a lot older. I’ll know it when it’s time. I think I’d be a good writer of a memoir. It’d be interesting and fun and I’d pick the best moments. There is some part of me that looks at what [Keith] did and he is just fucking honest. There are no punches pulled. I don’t think I’m at a place in my life where I could do that. You know what I mean? That was a damn good autobiography.”

Ms. Phair released her latest album FUNSTYLE in October and recently performed shows on the west coast. She admitted that she was initially terrified at the thought of being on stage and lost a month and a half’s sleep over it – until she played at the Matador 21 event in Las Vegas last month.

“It was an amazing weekend,” she said of that experience.

“I’m so glad I kicked it off with that because it reminded me of the best of what I can aspire to. As pop as I’ve gone, there’s still fully that indie side of me that will never leave and it kind of gave me that sense of who I am again.”

Leave a Reply

