CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER: I’VE GOT TO CRAM A LOT IN BEFORE I CROAK

FROM THE CANADIAN PRESS

Canadian acting legend CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER is thrilled with his role of the patriarch in the Hollywood remake of THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, which is shooting in Sweden.

“Henrik Vanger — I love the old guy,” he said in an interview Wednesday during a break from rehearsals for a revival of the play BARRYMORE, for which he won a TONY AWARD.

“I think he’s the only nice person in the whole story…But I’m enjoying (David) Fincher. He’s such a good director.”

The Toronto born performer arrived in his native city December 1 for rehearsals for BARRYMORE, just days after shooting scenes for DRAGON TATTOO in Stockholm – along with a brief stop at his home in Connecticut for U.S. Thanksgiving.

He’s due to fly to Los Angeles on Sunday to continue shooting his role as Henrik Vanger.

CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER, who celebrated his 81st birthday last Monday, said that he’s working more now than he has for a long time in his storied stage and screen career.

And that’s just fine with him.

“I don’t know what the word retire means,” he said. He has won multiple TONY and EMMY AWARDS and was up for his first OSCAR earlier this year for THE LAST STATION.

“You’re retiring from what? From life, actually, that’s what you’re retiring from. If you love your work, which I do — and I’ve grown to love it more and more as I get older and realize that I’ve got to cram a lot in before I croak — I wouldn’t think of stopping.”

He is set to return to Toronto on January 12 to continue rehearsals for BARRYMORE, which is scheduled to run at the Elgin Theatre from January 27 to March 9.

Written by William Luce, BARRYMORE stars CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER as the iconic stage and screen star JOHN BARRYMORE during 1942, the final year of his life.

The remount reunites the entire original creative team, including three time TONY AWARD winning director GENE SAKS, who worked on the play that premiered at Canada’s Stratford festival in 1996 and opened on Broadway the next year.

“It’s like starting all over again. It’s just quite wonderful. I thought for a while it was going to be: ‘Oh God, I’ve done it before. I’m never going to get excited about it,‘ but I got excited about it the first day.”

Producers say BARRYMORE will be filmed for “a multi platform release,” but can’t reveal any details yet.

It would be the third CHRISTOPHER PLUMMER play to be filmed in recent years after his turns in 2008’s CAESAR & CLEOPATRA and 2010’s THE TEMPEST at THE STRATFORD SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL were put on the big screen.

Leave a Reply

