LEIGHTON MEESTER: ON PERSONAL STYLE & BEING INSPIRED





LEIGHTON MEESTER might be known for her daring fashion sense on screen and off, but that doesn’t mean that every day is focused on sartorial splendour.

“I like to be comfortable 90 percent of the time – and when it’s time to dress up, go all out,” she told PEOPLE of her personal style philosophy.

“My inspiration is life. It comes from my family, my friends, travelling. Books, music. Love inspires me…and relationships, sex. You know? Food, fashion!”

The Herbal Essences spokesperson, however, looked especially stunning while doing good, as she and her hairdresser Charles Baker Strahan joined the brand in support of charity PORTAITS OF HOPE, which brightened up skating arena ICE at Santa Monica by painting it in children’s art.

“We painted. We went skating. We ate pizza. [The kids] really were cracking me up,” said LEIGHTON of spending her day with children from THE SPECIAL OLYMPICS and THE BRAILLE INSTITUTE.

And while she tested her own artistic skills by painting alongside the children, not everything was smooth sailing.

“I’m a terrible ice skater,” she admitted, laughing.

“I luckily didn’t fall today but it’s probably because I had a balancing act with people holding both my hands.”

14 Responses to “LEIGHTON MEESTER: ON PERSONAL STYLE & BEING INSPIRED”

  1. i was curious if a leighton post was gonna land on cp. you’ve done like 50 posts with blake.

    i did see country strong. i’m just full of surprises, aren’t i??? 😉

    anyway…

    during bits of the film leighton’s character had a bit of this ultra shyness/performance anxiety. and this went over/wowed me a bit.

    so leighton’s ok with me.

    i’ve never seen any gossip girl. but i do know the date of the free screening for leighton’s new movie the roommate when it hits town. so i’ll try to snag those.

    sort of curious…really…

    oh wait, that would mean i have to leave my cluttered house. lord or whomever knows that’s a challenge sometimes.

    well, often. ha ha…

    and a few feet to the left of me – still rolled up – is the free megasize poster i got via the country strong screening…

  2. i was curious if a leighton post was gonna land on cp. you’ve done like 50 posts with blake.

    I actually had to check. I have featured BLAKE a lot and TAYLOR a number of times. Even KATIE CASSIDY (who’s a new addition to the GOSSIP GIRL cast). But I thought that I had posted something substantial on LEIGHTON previously.

    I had put up pictures and referenced her in articles. But this is the first post that’s entirely devoted to her. I’m rather surprised at that myself.

    LEIGHTON’S gorgeous, exceptionally charismatic and she has loads of talent. I like her style too. Her character BLAIR WALDORF is all about classic elegance. But LEIGHTON is risky and adventurous in terms of her clothing choices. It’s cool to have an edge if you know what you’re doing…and she definitely does.

    I had been meaning to post some stuff on LEIGHTON for a while now. Truthfully, I have done so many GOSSIP GIRL articles that I thought that I all ready had. But when I’m looking for content I don’t usually get too far ahead of myself. Unless something absolutely has to go right away or is exceptionally important, I never post more than two articles per day.

    While I’m attempting to figure out which two are going to make it on, I do select other articles and keep them on the site – ready to go. So that means that there’s an incredible amount of prioritizing involved. There’s a lot of intriguing stuff that never makes it to the site…for the simple reason that there is only so much that you can publish.

    But I do intend to feature LEIGHTON more frequently. I’m glad I have your approval, honey bear.

    i did see country strong. i’m just full of surprises, aren’t i???

    You are, baby. You definitely are. Aside from the fact that you live in Houston, I really didn’t see that coming.

    I haven’t seen it yet. I hear that LEIGHTON and GWYNETH are very good and that they both sing beautifully.

    i’ve never seen any gossip girl. but i do know the date of the free screening for leighton’s new movie the roommate when it hits town. so i’ll try to snag those.

    Well, you should watch GOSSIP GIRL, glimby. It’s an extremely entertaining show. Don’t know if it would be to your particular taste. But you could give one episode a try.

    Hmmm. Sounds like LEIGHTON has a new fan…

  3. Hmmm. Sounds like LEIGHTON has a new fan…

    oh, this is embarrassing. can we talk about putting up photos of shirtless guys instead !??

    I haven’t seen it yet. I hear that LEIGHTON and GWYNETH are very good and that they both sing beautifully.

    no one told you about gwyneth and the leather pants???

    *sigh*

    i thought they came across fine vocal wise/ but i’m the worst to ask since i don’t really care if singers can sing.

    and i’m way out of sync with what counts as good singing or what most seem to mean when they use that phrase.

  4. Oh, that’s so adorable. glim’s got a new girlfriend.

    Ha ha. I’m just teasing you, baby. But I’m sure LEIGHTON would be exceptionally flattered.

    I did see a video from the film where GWYNETH had leather pants on. But I didn’t know she wore them in the movie.

    Interesting…

    I used to wear leather pants all the time. I didn’t feel particularly ecstatic about it from an animal rights perspective. I saw ROSAMUND PIKE doing press for BARNEY’S VERSION and she was wearing a beautiful black outfit with leather pants.

    I’d like to get a few more pairs. They did look fantastic. I would prefer to get some that are high quality that look similar to the real deal. I don’t have mine any more. They do wear out eventually.

    and i’m way out of sync with what counts as good singing or what most seem to mean when they use that phrase.

    I know that you have a real affinity for music. I bet you do have some idea of what makes a great singer…or at least an opinion about it.

    We’ll definitely have an extensive discusssion about this some time somewhere some way…

  5. I did see a video from the film where GWYNETH had leather pants on. But I didn’t know she wore them in the movie.

    yeah, she has them on in a couple of scenes. one of which is when she goes to see a guy named travis…

    anyway…

    i thought that they were leather and not vinyl pants or whatever. they definitely had a leather look…

    Ha ha. I’m just teasing you, baby. 😉

    rosamund should wear those pants on the red carpet. 😉

    oh, would velvet pants work as leather pants substitute? a bit less to worry about animal rights wise???

    Oh, that’s so adorable. glim’s got a new girlfriend.

    i’m not gonna talk about this in public. you never know what deranged scum could be reading this ! 😉

    I know that you have a real affinity for music. I bet you do have some idea of what makes a great singer…or at least an opinion about it.

    ok, i know you’re a fan of the rolling stones. mick jagger doesn’t have a voice/range that would get labeled he can sing.

    but he uses his voice in such an expressive way/and in ways that people that can sing mostly don’t. so his not being able to sing isn’t a negative factor.(people that are limited vocally often use their voice in way creative ways!)

    definitely not a problem for a person in a rock band. other genres maybe this would be a problem.

  6. rosamund should wear those pants on the red carpet.

    Actually, I think she did. She looked absolutely phenomenal.

    Leather pants are an exceptionally cool look. They were incredibly popular for a while. They seemingly went out of style for a bit. Now it appears that they’re back.

    oh, would velvet pants work as leather pants substitute? a bit less to worry about animal rights wise???

    Funny that you should say that, glim. I’ve always worn a lot of lace and velvet. That’s the ultrafeminine fashionista in me. Velvet pants are a big part of my wardrobe. I’m wearing velvet pants right now.

    You and I have been friends for a long time. But we’ve never discussed this. Talk about being on the same wavelength.

    ok, i know you’re a fan of the rolling stones. mick jagger doesn’t have a voice/range that would get labeled he can sing.

    but he uses his voice in such an expressive way/and in ways that people that can sing mostly don’t. so his not being able to sing isn’t a negative factor. (people that are limited vocally often use their voice in way creative ways!)

    definitely not a problem for a person in a rock band. other genres maybe this would be a problem.

    Here we go. I knew you could bring the most delectable food to the party. It’s true that despite his enormous influence on the culture (and in music specifically of course…) MICK JAGGER is not a great singer in a technical sense. But he has superlative energy and passion.

    He just goes for it.

    But you don’t have to be a fantastic singer with incredible pipes or a lot of virtuosity if you’re a skilled musician or if you have a particular type of charisma. I’m thinking people like NEIL YOUNG and LEONARD COHEN. Towering talents but vocally rather unconventional.

    i’m not gonna talk about this in public. you never know what deranged scum could be reading this!

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. HA.

    Holy F. There’s my laugh for the day. You are an incredible treasure, glimby.

    Well, I won’t tell if you won’t. We both know who they are in any case…

  7. Actually, I think she did. She looked absolutely phenomenal.

    ah, i’ve finally seen a pic. beyond beyond awesome.

    we might need some pics of guys with their shirts off. to uh cool off. ha ha…

    those pants are red carpet worthy indeed. 🙂

  8. Totally agree, glimster.

    Totally…

  9. seems the houston screening of the roommate has gotten cancelled…

  10. That blows, honey bear.

    Are you going to go anyway?

  11. since you embarrassed and shocked the nation by referring to leighton as my new girlfriend i guess i have to go…

    ms. m sure knows how to sell tickets… 😉

  12. since you embarrassed and shocked the nation by referring to leighton as my new girlfriend i guess i have to go…

    I guess more like embarrassed and shocked the globe, seeing as the internet is worldwide.

    ms. m sure knows how to sell tickets…

    Ha ha ha. I’ll take that as an immense compliment, my darling boy. Beats the hell out of the BS that’s been spread around lately.

  13. hmm, also as you likely know billboard.com has the country strong soundtrack still in the top 10 on the top 200 album list thing…

    i guess i’m not leighton’s only boyfriend. 😉

  14. Actually, I wasn’t aware of the Billboard thing.

    I’m sure LEIGHTON has a personal life. She’s definitely entitled not only to that, but to her privacy as well.

    It does sound like you’ve got some serious competition for LEIGHTON’S affections, glimby. Better get going.

    Valentine’s Day is coming…

Leave a Reply

