EMMA ROBERTS: ON CHOCOLATE CROISSANTS, SUSHI, MEAN GIRLS & RIDICULOUS NOTIONS OF NEPOTISM


FROM POPEATER

In THE ART OF GETTING BY, EMMA ROBERTS plays a popular high school teen who begins a relationship with a lonely misfit played by an all grown up FREDDIE HIGHMORE. The daughter of ERIC (and niece of JULIA) has been working since she was a kid and is whip smart in interviews.

She spoke to POPEATER about highs (school and heels), her love of thick eyebrows and the ridiculous chatter on the blogs that she has benefited from her famous kin.

“I think [talk of nepotism] is so ridiculous considering it’s obviously not true…I’ve auditioned for so many things and never gotten the part,” she said, before challenging bloggers intent on bashing her to lay their asses on the line.

“I would actually have more respect for them if they said it to my face. Then I would probably not say anything back.”

NICKI GOSTIN: Did you go to school?

EMMA ROBERTS: I went to school till seventh grade and then I was home schooled through high school.

NG: Was it strange to play a high school student?

ER: I mean, no…because high school is such a big part of American culture. It’s so prevalent in music and TV and movies. I think I get the jist!

NG: Do you feel cheated that you didn’t go?

ER: No, I got to travel all over the world and work with really cool people. So I think that was an education in itself.

NG: Were you popular in school?

ER: I was popular. I had a lot of friends but I wasn’t like a mean girl. I was also always the shortest person in my class. I’m 5’2″.

NG: Do you wear big heels to compensate?

ER: I wear heels 24/7. I can run faster in heels than I can in sneakers. I trip all the time but it’s nothing to do with heels. I trip all the time but I haven’t taken a bad spill. Knock on wood.

NG: In the beginning did everyone accuse you of nepotism because of your dad and aunt?

ER: A lot of people think that and they talk about nepotism which I think is so ridiculous considering it’s obviously not true, because I’ve auditioned for so many things and never gotten the part. Also it’s like, you know, maybe someone can get you one part but they can’t really get you ten parts.

NG: I think she could probably get you a part playing her daughter. But that’s about it.

ER: Exactly.

NG: Would you want to work with her?

ER: Yes, I would love to. I think it would be really fun for us.

NG: You know you’ll be accused of nepotism if it happens.

ER: Oh well, if someone wants to say that to my face…If someone blogs about it I’ll be annoyed. I think it’s so funny people will blog stuff but they won’t say it to your face. I would actually have more respect for them if they said it to my face. Then I would probably not say anything back.

NG: Are you immune to nasty comments on line or do you still get upset?

ER: I don’t read them any more but obviously you know that they’re there. For me I can’t let it bother me because for me anyone hiding behind a computer is kind of irrelevant.

NG: Or a loser.

ER: Uh huh. Also I can handle it. But there are some people with the whole bullying thing can’t handle it and do horrible things to themselves.

NG: I feel a kindred spirit with you. I have thick eyebrows too.

ER: I had a total unibrow. Literally I had a total FRIDA KAHLO unibrow. When I was younger I got made fun of. I think I was 12, I was on a TV show and afterwards kids in school were like, “You have a unibrow,” and I remember I was so embarrassed. It’s funny because now I love thick eyebrows. I think they’re so beautiful…Not a unibrow. Now I just make sure to wax in the middle.

NG: What’s your favourite guilty pleasure?

ER: I eat so much junk food. What I eat most is chocolate croissants. I’m eating one right now. I probably eat them more than I eat anything else. I’m obsessed and I love a midnight MILKY WAY.

NG: How come there are no photos of you tripping outside a nightclub?

ER: I love going to Europe because you’re allowed to go out. I’m not trying to go out to be a mess but I love to go dancing and in Europe I’m old enough to be allowed to go out dancing with my friends. I love London. It’s my favourite place.

NG: Do you go to raves?

ER: Oh no no. I’m not a raver.

NG: What do you do when you’re not working?

ER: I love to read and go to the movies. I love to go out and eat sushi. I could eat sushi every day.

NG: So sushi and chocolate croissants are the way to win your heart…?

ER: Actually, yes!

2 Responses to “EMMA ROBERTS: ON CHOCOLATE CROISSANTS, SUSHI, MEAN GIRLS & RIDICULOUS NOTIONS OF NEPOTISM”

  1. glimmer Says:

    I was also always the shortest person in my class. I’m 5’2″.

    5’2″??? hey, not meaning this in a negative way. but…uh, she seemed inches taller in the movie i saw her in. is this movie magic????

    really no one in movies looks like they’re that height. everyone’s always taller…or so it seems.

    I feel a kindred spirit with you. I have thick eyebrows too.

    feeling like even more of an outsider/since i don’t have thick eyebrows. 😉

    I eat so much junk food.

    thank you. thank you. i think that’s a message our youth needs to hear… someone please stop me from eating junk food/i surely eat enough for me and emma and probably enough for you too ms.m. 😉

    So sushi and chocolate croissants are the way to win your heart…?

    and the internet goes wild over this intriguing fact. 😉

  2. 5’2″??? hey, not meaning this in a negative way. but…uh, she seemed inches taller in the movie i saw her in. is this movie magic????

    I think it’s partly movie magic and it also has to do with people’s perceptions, glim. There are ways that you can shoot actors (from various angles). You can put lifts in their shoes. In the golden age of Hollywood, they got performers to stand on apple boxes if they thought it was necessary.

    Plus…you have to remember that you’re viewing actors on an enormous screen. Everyone always looks taller.

    I’m 5’9″. I’ve towered over most of the famous individuals that I’ve met. Occasionally the men can be shockingly short in person.

    But that’s the difference between reality and fantasy. Sometimes the latter doesn’t hold up very well in the light of day.

    I eat so much junk food.

    thank you. thank you. i think that’s a message our youth needs to hear… someone please stop me from eating junk food/i surely eat enough for me and emma and probably enough for you too ms.m.

    As far as I’m concerned, junk food has its place. It’s impossible to be that rigid on a consistent basis. There’s nothing wrong with ice cream, chocolate or a bag of Doritos. Just as long as you’re not consuming stuff like that every damn day.

    Indulgences are to be savoured.

    So sushi and chocolate croissants are the way to win your heart…?

    and the internet goes wild over this intriguing fact.

    For the many people that adore EMMA, I’m sure that’s a very welcome bit of thoroughly fascinating knowledge.

Leave a Reply

