KATE WINSLET TALKS ELIZABETH TAYLOR, ON SCREEN NUDITY & THE OSCAR




One phrase you’d never expect to hear from the dainty proper mouth of TITANIC hero ROSE: “left nut sack.”

Which, more than anything, proves that KATE WINSLET is a bloody brilliant actor.

The OSCAR winner covers this month’s issue of V MAGAZINE, in which she talks about her love for ELIZABETH TAYLOR (taking some photos in homage to the late star) and discusses that buzzy link bait topic of nude scenes. Turns out, she’s not a fan of them (but will do them anyway).

“I hate it! Listen. Make no mistake. I just get on it,” she said about baring it all on film.

“I just go in and say, ‘Oh fuck. Let’s do it,’ and boom. If you complain about it or procrastinate it’s not going to go away. It’s a profoundly bizarre thing to do. As actors you talk about it all the time. You can literally be tangled in sheets and you turn to the other actor and say, ‘What the fuck are we doing?’ Dear Mum, at work today I had so and so’s left nut sack pressed against my cheek. It’s sort of unethical if you think about it in those terms.”

In which films, exactly, she has that sort of anatomically awkward situation going down is a bit uncertain, but nonetheless, it’s an interesting admission from one of the industry’s top stars. She had a particularly heavy nude scene in her HBO miniseries MILDRED PIERCE earlier this year, which came after she pledged to stop doing them.

In her new film, at least, KATE will remain fully clothed – otherwise, she’d probably die. She stars in STEVEN SODERBERGH’S infectious thriller CONTAGION playing a doctor looking to stop the spread of a mysterious illness that’s ravaging the world. KATE will also appear in ROMAN POLANSKI’S upcoming film CARNAGE as one in a group of four parents trying to settle a dispute stemming from an afterschool fight between their children.

She keeps her clothes on – instead, she sheds her lunch in an all ready buzzed about vomiting scene.

“I hope I am shitting myself over the characters I play for the rest of my life,” KATE told V, in an aspirational forecast for the rest of her career.

“Because the day I go ‘Oh yeah, that’s going to be a piece of piss,’ why fucking bother? If you do that, you do not learn. I hope I’m always learning something. So I won an Oscar. It’s amazing. I’ve got that for the rest of my life for a performance I am proud of. It nearly killed me. I am really proud of the film. That’s it. Moving on…”

For more from KATE, click over to V MAGAZINE

Leave a Reply

