THE BEST TV SHOWS OF THE 80S

abby1
donnamills-then1
donna_mills_2
mills00051

I’ve never been a big television fan.

But, as with everything else in my life, I know exactly what I like.

I’m always on the cutting edge with art forms like film and music. I want to know about the latest bands and singers. I have to see intriguing films as soon as they’re released.

Not only so that I can stay ahead of the curve. But I fervently desire to have more to bring to the table in terms of conversation…and also so I can decide whether I have any personal affinity with the new hot trends.

Television is a bit more problematic. Whether you watch programs when they actually appear in their respective time periods or tape them, you must make a time commitment. Unless I’m extremely motivated, it’s something I’m just not willing to do.

I like variety…and I’m no planner.

For your perusing pleasure, I have a list of the best 80s TV shows.

There are two decades that I think are absolutely magical: the 60s and the 80s. One I wasn’t here for. The latter took up much of my childhood.

I’m sure I’ve idealized the 80s completely out of proportion. But when I reminisce, all I can think about are things like how glamorous everyone seemed (people sure as hell knew how to dress back then…and actually made the effort) and how great the music was.

So I got in to all of these shows through reruns. I vaguely remember them being on TV at the height of their popularity. But I was too young to watch.

Some I’ve viewed casually. Then there are a number of them where I’ve seen practically every episode imaginable.

The only one that I own is MOONLIGHTING. I’m in possession of the first three seasons.

(After MADDIE and DAVID had it off, all the air went out of that tire. Unfortunately. But it certainly is a classic. It makes the majority of the shows produced for TV look like trash in comparison.)

I just picked up the second season of KNOTS LANDING and I can’t wait to sit down and watch it. I have no absolutely no desire to own the first season. The second season is when ABBY FAIRGATE (the fabulous DONNA MILLS) makes her distracting debut.

ABBY was one of the best bad girls to ever appear on television. DONNA MILLS made that show…and it’s a wicked shame that she was never nominated for an EMMY. She was incredible.

Other excellent actors that also appeared on that program: the awesome NICOLLETTE SHERIDAN (as PAIGE MATHESON) and my idol AVA GARDNER.

So here are my favourite shows from this particular compilation…

32. KATE & ALLIE
31. KNOTS LANDING
29. REMINGTON STEELE
25. QUANTUM LEAP
20. MIAMI VICE
19. NIGHT COURT
18. DESIGNING WOMEN
16. MARRIED WITH CHILDREN
15. CAGNEY & LACEY
4. THIRTYSOMETHING
3. MOONLIGHTING
2. HILL STREET BLUES

For the whole damn thing, please go here

Leave a comment